231 Front Street, Lahaina, HI 96761 info@givingpress.com 808.123.4567

Balasaheb Thorat is new Maharashtra Congress chief

first_imgThe All India Congress Committee on Saturday approved the appointment of former revenue minister Balasaheb Thorat as president of the Maharashtra Pradesh Congress Committee.Mr. Thorat has replaced another political heavyweight, Ashok Chavan, and would be assisted by five other working presidents — Nitin Raut, Basabraj Patil, Vishwajeet Kadam, Yashomati Thakur and Muzaffer Hussain, leaders from the party said.Issuing the appointment order, party general secretary K.C. Venugopal said, “Honourble Congress President has also approved the proposal for the appointment of Shri K.C. Padavi as Congress Legislative Party (CLP) leader in the State.” Mr. Thorat, who was born into a farmer family in Sangmner taluka, has served as Minister of Agriculture and as Minister of Revenue, and Khar Lands in the State government.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *